The instruments

instruments du samulnori
Kkwaenggwari (꽹과리) : A high-pitched metal gong about 20~23 cm (8~9 inch) wide. It is also used for court and shamanic music, military processions and Buddhist songs.

Janggu (장구) : An hourglass shaped wooden drum. Two membranes of either cow, horse or dog skin are stretched and cover each side of this instrument. The membrane tension is increased by tightening the thin cords fixed on the skin parts. A high-pitched sound is emitted by hitting with a thin bamboo stick the side of the drum which is covered with the thinnest piece of skin. For a lower-pitched sound, one should hit the thicker skin piece on the opposite side, with the hand palm or a stick made of bamboo root. The Janggu is also used in most traditional Korean musics including court, folk and shamanic music.

Buk (북) : A barrel drum made of Paulownia or pine tree. Its two membranes made of cow skin are held and stretched tight by a set of thin cords. It is usually hit with a stick and also known as an accompanying instrument in Pansori.

Jing (징) : A low-pitched metal gong about 35~42 cm (14~16.5 inch) wide. It is hit with a stick covered on both ends by a piece of fabric and cotton. This instrument is also used in shaman and court music.

Les instruments


Kkwaenggwari (꽹과리) :

Gong dont le plateau de métal a un diamètre de 20 à 23 cm. Utilisé pour les musiques de cour, chamaniques, les processions militaires et les chants bouddhiques, il émet des son aigus.

Janggu (장구) :

Tambour en forme de sablier. Sur le corps de bois sont tendues deux membranes en peau de chien, de cheval ou de vache. La tension de la membrane est augmentée en serrant les cordelettes fixées sur les cercles de peau. Un son aigu est obtenu en tapant avec une fine baguette de bambou sur la peau de  faible épaisseur. Pour un son plus grave, on frappe sur la peau épaisse avec la paume de la main quand le Janggu est un instrument d’accompagnement, ou avec une baguette en racine de bambou. Le Janggu est utilisé pour toutes sortes de musiques coréennes : musiques de cour, folkloriques, chamaniques…

Buk (북) :

Tambour baril en bois évidé, généralement de paulownia ou de pin, dont les membranes en peau de vache sont tendues par un jeu de cordelettes. Il est frappé par un bâton. Instrument d’accompagnement des pansori.

Jing (징) :

Gong fixe dont le diamètre du plateau en métal mesure entre 35 et 42cm. Il est frappé au moyen d’un bâton dont l’extrémité est recouverte de tissu et de coton. Cet instrument aux origines lointaines est utilisé dans les musiques chamaniques et de cour.